Give Me Strength

image

I’ve been thinking about the word strength a lot over the last few days, and how we apply it to our lives.

Dictionary definition
s:
The quality or state of being strong,bodily or muscular power,vigor

Mental power,force or vigor.

When in the throes if depression we lose our strength physically and mentally,your body and mind coming to a standstill.

It’s hard to imagine having no strength, just like a floppy doll, even harder to imagine how you get it back, but when I think back I had strength in other more basic ways.

It takes considerable strength to open your eyes on a daily basis, to sit up, even get out of bed, to bathe,to clean house, to don that happy face mask to present yourself to the world, it’s the strength of shame trying to hide your sadness from the world outside.

So when those people who don’t understand tell you to get a grip, they clearly have no idea what your dealing with, would they have the strength at 2am or anytime not to listen to the demons when they come out to play, or to have such searing debilitating pain,but feel nothing, listen to the white noise in your head, not to walk out on that ledge…short answer NO.

That is not to say friends and family cannot be supportive, but depression is like sitting at a table for one and the loneliness it engenders is not always visible to the outside.

When you get to the recovery stage that takes a different kind if strength, not just the desire to be well, you have to open up your entire being, and look at it dissect it, and put it back together piece by painful piece, and that takes strength.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Give Me Strength

  1. Pingback: Shared from WordPress | The Rabbit Hole

  2. Strength may seem impossible. Trust me, I’ve been there over the past 20 years of depression. I feel every word and emotion of your post. You’re down. That’s ok. Until you stop waiting for the day when you will no longer be down, you’ll stay stuck. Take your down self and still do something that will bring a smile to your face. One smile. Make it purposefully small. Very very small AND make it something you can enjoy. Now cleaning out a closet. (unless you have OCD too…LOL). Read my blog today about Strength. Strength comes slowly and is a process. Don’t try to make strength…rather accept it. Don’t ignore it out of defeat. You’ve been down that road of defeat (as have I). We will have down days, but that does not define our future. Strength comes as we practice it, little by little. Just like building muscles takes time. Making our mental muscle strong is a process. Tomorrow can be a better day if you use the strength you’ve been given, no matter how small. Sorry if I’m preaching….trust me, I’m talking to myself too….Hugs, Hope

    • Thank you, I find different kinds of strength everyday, which I’m thankful for as there was a time not that long ago when it deserted me.

      Your not preaching there is truth in your words and I appreciate them very much.:)

  3. oops….I didn’t mean “NOW” cleaning out a closet. I meant to type “NO” cleaning any closets! LOL

  4. emma says:

    “It takes considerable strength to open your eyes on a daily basis, to sit up, even get out of bed, to bathe, to clean house, to don that happy face mask to present yourself to the world, it’s the strength of shame trying to hide your sadness from the world outside.” Poignant words. You said what I’ve felt for years and you said it so well. Thank you. I hope you come back soon. We need more voices like yours. People need to understand.

  5. This is an old blog, which I posted by mistake, you can find my blog at http://therabbitholez.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

